Blueberry Pear Scones

Hi, everybody! *Waves*

I am listening to the wonderful Robin Hood Soundtrack (by the way, I adore soundtracks), and I am ultra-happy to share a recipe with you for the first time in…well, never mind. Let’s change the subject.

Let’s talk about scones. Exciting creatures, aren’t they? That’s because they can take so many forms. Just Google it, and you’ll find endless possibilities…lemon poppy-seed, cinnamon chip, maple pecan, apple cheddar, potato, asparagus, raisin scones! 

Scones, glorious scones!

You might have guessed that we made Blueberry Pear Scones the other day. It’s true. My little sister and I thought it would be a good idea, found a recipe to prove it, and went to bake. And (insert evil laugh) severely alter the recipe. That included turning the cute scone triangles into lazy drop scones.

Image

Blueberry Pear Scones

3 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1/8-1/4 tsp. cardamon

1 T. baking powder

1/2 cup coconut oil (I recommend that you chill it well first)

1/3 cup honey

1/2 cup yogurt

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 cup pear, diced

2/3 cup frozen blueberries

Combine flour, salt, cardamon, and baking powder. Cut in coconut oil, then fold in honey, yogurt, eggs, and vanilla. Once everything is nice and combined,gently stir in the fruit. You don’t want those blueberries to thaw and make your scones purple! Immediately drop large spoonfuls of batter onto a greased cookie sheet. Make it like a big cookie. You should end up with 12-15 medium-sized drop scones. Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until scones are lightly browned and “done” on the bottom. Serve warm and enjoy the combination of flavors!

Yield: 12-15 scones

Nutrition Facts: (per scone of 15) 191 calories, 8.4g total fat, 6.6g saturated fat, 25mg cholesterol, 94mg sodium, 26.9g carbohydrates, 3.4g fiber, 8.4g sugar, 4.6g protein

Our family enjoyed these scones! They were simple, had good flavor, and didn’t feel too heavy or rich. However, they needed more depth of flavor. I wish I had added more cardamon or some lemon peel, since the pear and blueberry flavor didn’t permeate the whole scone. Probably, we could have added more fruit to get more of that flavor.

Image

I did have one great success with these scones! I didn’t snack on the dough…something I usually do. It’s a chronic problem. I set a snacking “fast” until the end of March. I’ve loved it! It’s like non-optional self-control. Yes, it is hard, like when I’m making trail mix bars, but it’s worth it at the end of the day.

“Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought with a price, therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

That’s an amazing verse. If you are a believer of Jesus, your body is a temple. The Holy Spirit dwells in you! He bought you for His glorify, so glorify Him with your body!

Looking forward to seeing ya’ll again soon. I have pictures on my camera of a certain green bean dish I made today. Ya’ll might just want to try it!

And honestly, if you don’t, I’ll still have fun posting it. This is like a cooking journal.

Until next time,

~rachel~

Image

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Pear Scones

  1. Kaitlin says:

    Oh, goodness. All scones have a special place in my heart (and my taste buds!), but these look Beyond-Delightful! Bravo, Miss Rachel!

    Can’t wait for the encore!

  2. Ery says:

    These look so good! Last time I tried to make scones I just made a mess, but these make me want to try again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

