Surprise!!

When I was making a spinach salad for lunch today, I thought it would be good to roast some cashews for it. So I dump a little canola oil in a pan, sprinkle some salt, cayenne pepper, and cinnamon over it and then add some cashews. Yum. I stick them in a very hot oven to roast. Mom, Dad, Laura, and Kaylene walk in. Dad asks me to fill his pickup up with gas. I do so. While I was waiting to for it to fill up, I remembered my cashews. Maybe they’ll see them and take them out for me. It won’t be too bad if they burn a little and we can’t eat them. I return. Waiting for me on the doghouse:

I walk in the house and push through the smoke. Later Craig wondered what I had done to the “beans.” Haha. I think I can still smell them.
On a happier note, I have some more recipes. I decided to put them here instead of the cooking page. Enjoy! We enjoyed both of these recipes a lot!
Maple Glazed Carrots
5 1/2 cups sliced carrots
1 T. butter
2 T. maple syrup
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
dash cloves
Cook the carrots in water until tender. Add butter, maple syrup and spices.
Serves 6-8
White Chili
1 medium onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 T. canola oil
In a large saucepan, saute the onions and garlic in oil until tender.
2 (4-oz.) cans green chilies, diced
3 (15-oz.) cans Great Northern beans or navy beans, undrained
4 1/2 cups chicken broth
3-4 cups diced chicken/turkey/pheasant (yeah, we used pheasant and it was good!)
1 t. salt
1/4 t. pepper
1 t. onion powder
1 1/2 t. onion powder
2 t. cumin
1/8 t. cayenne pepper
1/2 t. dried oregano
1/2 t. dried cilantro
Add green chilies, beans, chicken broth, meat, and spices. Blend well.
3 T. butter
5 T. flour
Melt the butter in another small saucepan. Add flour and blend well. Spoon about a cup of the soup into the roux and mix until smooth. Add roux back to the soup – stir and heat to thicken. If you want it any thicker after this, take out another cup of the soup and mix about 2 T. flour into it. Mix well – you don’t want it lumpy like mine was. =) Add to the rest of the soup.
1 1/2 cups milk
1/3 cup sour cream
Once your soup is hot and thick, add milk and sour cream.
This makes a lot of soup – there was seven of us but the guys ate quite a bit. I think it could serve 8-10 very well.
Serving suggestion: corn chips, sour cream, cheese, or avocados.
2 thoughts on “Surprise!!

  1. Kaylene says:

    I still say you’re an *amazing* cook.

    I love white chili. You have good tastes.

  2. Lizzy says:

    I’m glad that I’M NOT the only one that messes up sometimes….
    But I bet they would have tasted good. (Not burned)
    And I’ll admit, they do look like beans, black and all.
    Did you ever taste them? 🙂

    Lizzy

Leave a Reply

