Roasted Vegetable Salsa

A couple of months ago I tried some roasted salsa and LOVED it, so I tried to make my own. It didn’t turn out much like the original, but it was still really yummy! I used tomatoes and peppers from our garden.

I lost the “recipe” that I made up, but here’s what I can remember.

4 cups fresh tomatoes, chopped (we had cherry tomatoes, so I mostly quartered them)

1 medium onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, sliced (Sweet peppers would be good too)

1 (4-oz.) can diced green chilies

2 jalepeno peppers, seeded and finely diced

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cumin (or more…I love cumin)

1 tsp. onion powder

2 T. vinegar

¼ tsp. pepper

Garlic, to taste

Dried oregano, optional

Dried cilantro, optional

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place vegetables in a greased sheet pan and roast, stirring frequently, until vegetables are tender and/or some of the juices have cooked away. (Really, I’m not sure how long it took…quite a while, though.) When the vegetables are cooked, transfer them to a food processor/blender and process until desired consistency.

Yield: 2 1/2 cups

I’m not usually a big salsa person, but I REALLY liked this one. If you have some time, it’s definitely worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

