The Cake and Energy Bars…

I have a brother that loves to come through the kitchen midmorning and get a snack. So I like to make him snacks. =) These last bars I made are kind of likeable…maybe your family will like them too.

Peanut Butter Energy Bars

2 cups oats

1/2 cup coconut

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1/4 cup cashews

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

1/4 cup pecans, chopped

1 T. flaxseed meal, optional

1/2 cup grapenuts

1 tsp. cinnamon

6 T. butter

1/2 cup honey

3/4 cup peanut butter

1 tsp. vanilla

Combine oats, coconut, sunflower seeds, nuts, flaxseed meal, grapenuts, and cinnamon in a bowl.

In a saucepan, mix butter, peanut butter, and honey. Heat over medium/low heat until bubbly, stirring frequently. Mix in vanilla. Pour over dry ingredients and blend well.

Press firmly into a well-greased 9×9″ pan. Chill in the freezer.

Optional topping:

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 T. butter

Melt chocolate chips and butter in a saucepan, stirring well. Spread over bars. Chill until firm.

Cut into squares and serve.

Yield: 16-20

Notes: Have fun with these bars! Substitute different nuts, cereals, and other snack foods for what is written. Add chocolate chips. Add cocoa to your peanut butter mixture and have chocolate energy bars. The ideas are endless…just do whatever you like. =) These crumble some, but I don’t think it’s as bad as cooked granola bars. An idea for making them less crumbly might be adding less dry ingredients. Either way…they are good. =)

I was asked to make an anniversary cake for our interim pastor and his wife…their anniversary was yesterday (the 26th). So…here it is.

I tried to make it ivory with fall colors…and idea I had gotten off http://www.wilton.com. They had a cake called Autumn Illusions that I thought was really pretty…same sort of colors, but totally different design.

This was the first time I had made my own royal frosting (the kind that gets really hard) flowers…and I think I made the frosting too…um…thick or thin or something…anyway, they didn’t go together as well as I wanted, but they looked okay. =) One thing that’s hard is that the food coloring darkens some after sitting awhile, so you have to figure the right shade. That’s why the orange is so bright! And you didn’t want to see the amount of red food coloring I added to that frosting!!!!

Corrie made a rose, and later she wanted to eat it. So while she was eating it, her mouth and lips start turning RED! I started eating them too. The results:

And we’re still alive. Imagine.

Hey, you have a nice day!

~rachel

“The Lord has done great things for us, and we are glad” (Psalms 126:3).

P.S. Do you have a pumpkin recipe that you and your family love? I’d love to see…I want to do a pumpkin post with a lot of pumpkin recipes…would you help? Just e-mail your recipe to me at seamstressrach@gmail.com. I think it would also be fun to give your rating of the recipe (1 star to 5 stars) and tell a few words about you and your hobbies. See ya!

2 thoughts on “The Cake and Energy Bars…

  1. Kaylene says:

    Rachel! The cake is amazing! I’m so impressed with the roses. You’re gifted and I’m so blessed to see you using it for the glory of God.

  2. Lizzy says:

    O.K. guys, these energy bars are AWESOME!!!!!!!
    You HAVE to try them……..

    Lizzy

Leave a Reply

