Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

You can vote multiple-choice on this poll!

Seriously…these are REALLY good! I made them for Craig’s B-day and he likes them too. =) I haven’t made much candy, but this is something that wasn’t very hard and I would be glad to do again!

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

1 cup peanut butter, divided

4 1/2 tsp. butter, softened

1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 cups (12 oz.) semisweet chocolate chips

4 milk chocolate candy bars (1.55 oz. each), coarsely chopped

Colored sprinkles, optional

In a small bowl, combine 1/2 cup peanut butter, confectioners’ sugar and salt until smooth; set aside.

In a small microwave-safe bowl, melt the chocolate chips, candy bars, and remaining peanut butter; stir until smooth.

Drop teaspoonfuls of chocolate mixture into paper-lined miniature muffins cups. Top each with a scant teaspoonful of peanut butter mixture; top with another teaspoonful of chocolate mixture. Decorate with sprinkles if desired.

Refrigerate until set. Store in an airtight container. Yield: 3 dozen

Baker’s note: I used natural peanut butter, which is fairly thick, so I added a little more butter. Because of that, I think it’s safer to store them in the refrigerator.

peanut-butter-filling-copy

The peanut butter filling. How delish-looking is that? Well, not very, but it is really good!

chocolate-for-peanut-butter-cups-copy

Yeah, I did it on the stove…it worked well. This part smelled really good!

half-filled-peanut-butter-cups-copy

The strange-looking process of making peanut butter cups…It took a little more than teaspoonfuls to make these and make 3 dozen. Whatever works. =)

peanut-butter-halves-copy

I topped some of them with sprinkles, some with some kind of little heart-sprinkles we had, and chopped peanut butter chips. The ones with the peanut butter chips look the neatest, I think. I did some of them plain, just so they didn’t look too junky. Laura kindly let me bisect hers to get this picture. Thanks, Lou!

peanut-butter-cups-finished-copy-21

The finished product in a tin.

These were totally worth making, and I hope that if you decide to make them you will enjoy them as much as we have!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Wow, those look good! I love the combination of chocolate and peanut butter. Yum! 🙂

  2. Craig McCloy says:

    These are incredible. They are so good you won’t share. They make my taste buds sing. Thank you Rach

  3. Lizzy says:

    Man Rachel,

    I want to make some as soon as I can.
    They look AWESOME!!!!!!

    Lizzy

Leave a Reply

