Toffee Bars

By the way, this is a multiple choice poll, so if you like two kinds of nuts best, just choose both!

I saw this recipe in a Betty Crocker “cookies, bars, and cakes” cookbook, and Corrie and I made them for supper. They are really good…and no wonder!

Toffee Bars

toffee-bars

1 cup butter or margarine

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 egg yolk

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. salt

2/3 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped nuts, optional

In a large bowl, mix butter, brown sugar, vanilla, and egg yolk until well blended. Stir in flour and salt. Press dough evenly into an ungreased 13×9-inch pan.

Bake at 350 for 25 to 30 minutes or until very light brown (crust will be soft).  Immediately sprinkle chocolate chips on hot crust. Let stand until chocolate is softene, about 5 minutes; spread evenly. Sprinkle with nuts.

Cool 30 minutes in pan on cooling racks. For easiest cutting, cut the bars while they’re still warm.

Yield: 32 bars

~Rachel

By the way, I’d love to post recipes that you send me! If you have a good recipe that you’d like on here, just send it to my e-mail: seamstressrach@gmail.com. It would be awesome if you had a picture too, but if not, I don’t mind! Thanks!

7 thoughts on “Toffee Bars

  1. Maddie E. says:

    Oh, we have a recipe for Toffee Bars that have three layers! 😀 They’re SOO good, but more work than a normal batch of brownies made from scratch. 😉

  2. Maddie E. says:

    Oh, and I chose other, as well as “Almonds” because I can have tree nuts, but I haven’t tasted many of them since I’m allergic to peanuts. 😉

  3. Stephanie says:

    Yum, yum yum! And your photo is amazing!

  4. Bethany says:

    Those look delicouse!!! You took a good picture too.

  5. Hi Rachel,
    I just wanted to let you know that I made these Toffee Bars last night and we all loved them! They are so easy to make, too! 🙂 Thanks for posting the recipe.

    ~Kayla

  6. well.. it’s like I thought!

  7. я считаю: бесподобно…

Leave a Reply

