Gingerbread Deluxe

I don’t think I’ve met anybody who didn’t like gingerbread; it’s a family favorite for us. And this is an amazing recipe.

You can tell we’ve used this page a lot.

Gingerbread Pag

Gingerbread Deluxe

2 cups flour

2 1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. ground ginger

3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 cup shortening

2/3 cup sugar (or 1/3-1/2 cup honey)

2 eggs

2/3 cup molasses

3/4 cup boiling water

Whipping cream

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9-inch square pan.

2. Mix together flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves.

3. Cream together shortening and sugar in a bowl until light and fluffy at medium speed of electric mixer. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in molasses.

4. Add dry ingredients, little by little beating at low speed. Add water; beat until smooth. Pour batter into prepared pan.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes or until cake tests done. Cool in pan on rack until just warm. Serve topped with whipped cream. Yield: 9 servings

Gingerbread in Pan

Gingerbread with Cream

This recipe came from the Farm Journal’s Best-Ever Recipes cookbook.

~Rachel~

What’s one of your family’s absolute favorite recipes? I’d love to have the recipe, too! Just leave it in your comment. Thanks!

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Deluxe

  1. BethAnn says:

    I think my dad is the only one I know that doesn’t like ginger-anything. 🙂 I LOVE IT!

  2. Suzanne Gillispie says:

    Rachel, I love gingerbread….my great grandmother would have it ready for my brother & me in the winter. I’ll try yours as soon as I get my new stove. Thanks

  3. Kevin says:

    I really like the picture of the recipe page! AWESOME picture! Did you take it?

Leave a Reply

