Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake

Sometimes I make things I really like.

Sometimes I don’t.

I’m probably posting this recipe because I took pictures before I tasted it.

So…maybe you’ll like the pictures and learn from my mistakes.

[And I even tried to follow the recipe. Well, not TOO close. I was making it healthier and in a different type of pan without raisins. Is that too bad?]

Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake

3 cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 T. cornstarch

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. salt

1 egg

3/4 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup honey

1/3 cup oil

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

In a small bowl, combine the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt. In a medium-sized bowl, combine the egg, buttermilk, honey, and oil. In a separate bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients; stir until just mixed. Spoon half the batter into a well-greased small bundt pan. Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar. Spoon the remaining batter on top. Swirl with a knife. Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes or until a wooden skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from oven and shake until you feel the sides loosening. Let it sit 10 minutes before inverting it. Yield: 6-8 servings

I’ll tell you why it didn’t turn out good. I thought about replacing the baking soda with 1 T. baking powder. But I didn’t. I thought the acidity of the buttermilk would balance it out. Well, that’s what was wrong. Maybe it was our attempts to make it healthier. Anyway, if you make it, I would suggest you use the baking powder. Or, if you don’t care to make it healthy, just follow the original recipe here. Whatever you do, don’t tell how much I change recipes when I think I’m actually following them.

Enjoy!

~Rachel~

One thought on “Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake

  1. BethAnn says:

    YUM!!!!

Leave a Reply

