Caramel Apple Pecan Pie

WARNING: This stuff is intense. Powerful. And I haven’t even tasted it baked yet!

I mean, how can a combination of so many wonderful things not be intense? Powerful? Really.

It’s a pie for a pie contest. For Morse Days. I wanted something that would appeal to a lot of people. Some don’t like coconut, some don’t like peanut butter, and I don’t want to enter a fluffy pie.

So I made it. You should make it too. No, you have to make it.

Start off with a pie crust. Unbaked, plain ol’ pie crust.

Apples. Peel them…

…And slice them. You’ll need seven cups. Like this, see?

Now the fun stuff. You’ll need 1 tsp. lemon juice, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 3 T. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, 3/4 cup chopped pecans, and 4 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. I think all that cinnamon makes it intense. Powerful.

Now stir it up. Wow. Taste some. Wow.

Before you throw it into that pie crust, drizzle 1/4 cup caramel ice cream topping over the bottom of the pie crust. Caramel and apples and pecans. Be still, my beating heart.

Now you can add the apples.

Drizzle 1/4 cup melted butter over all that. Yes, I’m serious.

Now for the streusel. I love streusel. Get 3/4 cup flour, 2/3 cup pecans, and 1/4 cup sugar.

Now add 6 T. soft butter. Stir it up. I love streusel.

Now sprinkle it over the pie. Did I mention that I love streusel?

Bake it at 350 for 55-65 minutes. Right when you take it out, drizzle another 1/4 cup caramel ice cream topping on the top. If you don’t have any, make this recipe.

Please note: I haven’t tasted this pie baked. I don’t even know if it won the pie contest. I don’t know what it will bring at the pie auction. I may never get to taste it. But don’t let that stop you from making it.

Here’s the full recipe from Taste of Home, if you’re interested.

You are interested, aren’t you?

God bless you!

~Rachel~

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Leave a Reply

