Pear-Pecan Coffee Cake

Life is full of regrets. I wish I wrote down how I mutated this recipe from the original so I could truly share what I did with you. I wish I know how to get wonderful pictures of coffee cakes. I wish I didn’t have a green napkin under the plate and have to edit it out of one of the photos.

But life is also full of cheers. I’m so glad I made this coffee cake. I’m so glad God made pears and pecans. And I’m so glad God gave people minds and imaginations and creativity so they could come up with this incredible combination. I’m glad I got a chance to click a few pictures on that Sunday morning.

Since I can’t tell you what I did, I’ll tell you what you can do. Make the original recipe. What a novel thought! Why didn’t anybody ever tell me I could do that?

This particular recipe is from Taste of Home. Lots of good recipes there, by the way.  And if the original recipe happens to say walnuts, feel free to use pecans. That’s what we did.

Pear-Pecan Coffee Cake (aka Walnut Pear Coffee Cake)

1 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans!)

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cold butter, cubed

2 medium ripe pears, peeled and sliced (about 2 cups)

2 tsp. lemon juice

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar (or substitute 1/2 cup honey)

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (we used whole wheat pastry flour)

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup (8 oz.) sour cream

In a small bowl, combine the walnuts, brown sugar, flour and cinnamon; cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside for topping and filling

In a small bowl, toss pears with lemon juice; set aside. In another bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream, beating well after each addition.

Spread two-thirds of the batter into a greased 9-in. springform pan. Top with half  the reserved nut mixture, pears and remaining batter. Sprinkle with remaining nut mixture.

Bake at 350° for 50-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Carefully run a knife around edge of pan to loosen. Cool for 1 hour before cutting (Not really. Dig in whenever). Yield: 12 servings.

Note: I don’t normally like to use baking soda, so I would add an additional teaspoon of baking powder instead of the baking soda.


There you have it! Yes, I even changed up the original recipe to show you. No, I don’t feel guilty. As you can see, we somehow increased it and put it in a 9×13″ pan instead of a springform pan. You have to love it either way.

Seriously. This is one of the best coffee cakes I’ve ever had. The cake part wasn’t too sweet, but it was moist and it held together. The pears didn’t stand out as pears; they just subtly imparted flavor, sweetness, and moisture. As for the streusel topping, streusel toppings are always good. Is your mouth watering yet? It’s okay if it is. That means you should make this coffee cake.

Well, that’s all for now. Hopefully I’ll be back soon. I have scads of recipes to post.

Ever and always,

~Rachel~

For the Lord God is a sun and shield, the Lord will give grace and glory. No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly. Oh Lord of hosts, blessed is the man who trusts in You! Psalm 84:11-12

Leave a Reply

