Fresh Guacamole

Guacamole is a wonderful thing. We make it often, but I happened to take pictures this time. =)

Guacamole is good pretty much however you make it, but using fresh ingredients makes it even better. I know that makes me sound like a food snob, but I’m not trying to be.

A food processor makes it really easy. =) Just dump in a couple avocados, a little hunk of fresh onion, 1-2 minced garlic cloves, salsa, sour cream, and a squirt or two of lemon or lime juice. By the way, fresh lemon or lime juice is way better! =) Oh, and the dark green you see in there. That’s spinach – pureed from frozen. It’s totally optional, but you can’t tell if there’s  a little in there. Mix it up.

Now add your favorite spices – like salt, pepper, chili powder, red pepper flakes, cummin, oregano, and cilantro. (Hey, fresh cilantro would be really good!) You can replace the fresh onion and garlic with powder, but like I said, I think fresh is better. Taste-test as you go along (non-optional!). Mix it up well and then scrape into a bowl.

Serve it as soon as you can…I mean, while it’s still fresh. =) And be sure to eat it all since it doesn’t keep well.

Wow…imagine guacamole with fresh-off-the-tree avocados, fresh chilies, fresh tomatoes. I don’t know if the fresh avocados can happen here, but let me know how it is if you try it!

Bye for now.

~Rachel~

P.S. What do you add to your guacamole?

2 thoughts on “Fresh Guacamole

  1. BethAnn says:

    Salsa is really good added in too. 🙂 Yum, your recipe looks SO good.

  2. Kaitlin says:

    That looks delicious! We all love guacamole…In fact, we have it with most meals. Black beans are good when added as well!

Leave a comment